The European Institute of Molecular Magnetism


ADocMolMag Prize - V edition

Entries are now being accepted for the fourth "European Award on Molecular Magnetism Doctoral Thesis". The awards, will be given to young talented researchers in the field of Molecular Magnetism or a closely related discipline. The jury will pay particular attention to the design of novel magnetic molecules and materials, discovery of new phenomena, the application of new technologies or techniques, and important steps that advance our understanding of molecular magnetism. The jury will be composed of four internationally renowned scientists working within the field. The final number of prizes awarded (probably three), will be communicated after the selection.

The prize will include:
a) A diploma certifying the winning of the award;
b) 500 Euro to the winner plus other 500 Euro (so a total of 1000 Euro) to support the travel expenses and the registration fee for the attendance to an international meeting related with Molecular Magnetism or having session devoted to Molecular Magnetism (such as the European Conference of Molecular Magnetism 2019, or the Spintronic conference 2018, or the ESMolNa school 2018, where, the successful candidates, will also have the opportunity to present their work, or others like ICCC, as an example).

Eligibility. Candidates are considered eligible if they have submitted a PhD thesis between the 1st April 2014 and the 31th March 2016.
Application. The application should contain (in electronic format):
1) A three-page summary of the thesis, underlining the major achievements of the thesis work;
2) A list of the publications obtained from the thesis, including publications that have appeared since the thesis was submitted, reporting also the IF of journal and number of citations of each paper;
3) A two page (maximum) CV, containing also the contact details of the applicant;
4) A maximum of One recommendation letter (not mandatory) from the supervisors of the thesis or other scientists involved in the thesis work;
5) The electronic version of the thesis and related publications in pdf format.

Applications should be sent to the following email address:

by March 30st 2018, and should be clearly marked ADocMolMag in the subject.
If the material is too heavy for being sent by email, you are allowed to use tools for transfer of data. Dr. Stefano Vannuzzi, from EIMM secretariat, will take care of the collection of the applications and will acknowledge your application

Wolfgang Wernsdorfer

Experimental Solid State Physics
Wolfgang Wernsdorfer's specialism is experimental solid state physics at the interface with chemistry and material science. He is one of the world's leading experts on nanomagnets and their use in quantum spintronics. Already as a doctoral researcher at the Low Temperature Laboratory in Grenoble, he developed the nano-SQUID, a breakthrough device allowing him to measure the magnetic properties of single nanostructures and molecules. Wernsdorfer discovered the role played by quantum laws in molecular magnetism and was thus able to build electronic circuits in which the electric current is controlled by the magnetism in the molecule. One of his most recent ambitions is to integrate tiny, molecular quantum processors in the state-of-the-art CMOS technology used in microelectronics. This could lead to nanomagnets being used in future quantum computers.

Nominating University: Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Professor Dr Wolfgang Wernsdorfer
Born in Germany in 1966, Wolfgang Wernsdorfer initially trained as an electrician, then proceeded to study physics at the University of Würzburg and completed his education at the elite École normale supérieure in Lyon, France. In 1993, he became a doctoral researcher at the Low Temperature Laboratory and the Laboratoire de Magnetism in Grenoble, France ? two of the institutes that formed today's Institut NEEL where he has held the position of Directeur de recherche 1ère classe since 2008. The honours and awards he has received include the Agilent Europhysics Prize granted by the European Physical Society, the Olivier Kahn International Award, granted by the European Institute of Molecular Magnetism, a European Research Council Advanced Grant and the Prix Spécial from the Société Française de Physique.